West Virginia Wesleyan College

Department of Physics and Engineering


Eleven students win 2012 NASA Fellowships


Our department has eleven students who have been awarded NASA Fellowships for the 2012 academic year. Funding is provided by the West Virginia Space Grant Consortium. The announcement was made by Dr. Joseph Wiest, Wesleyan’s academic representative to the West Virginia Space Grant Consortium.


NASA Scholars are selected based on their academic record and their commitment to a discipline of interest to NASA. Scholars are paid a stipend to perform a research project during the academic year. They also have the opportunity to apply for NASA summer research fellowships and internships at a NASA facility such as the NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center.


NASA Fellows 11

NASA Fellowship winnersFront row: Ryder Bolin, Matt Phares, Amelia Riley, Cody O’Meara.  Second row: Dr. Popson, Andrew Cvetnick, Paige Rutter, Lauren Cronise, Dr. Wiest. Back row: Alex Loar, Matt Stadelman, Jason Neace, Evan Gorman